Welcome to Brainwaves!

Posted: April 2, 2013 by brainwaves in Playlists, Podcasts

Brainwaves iconBrainwaves is true eclectic alternative radio – two hours of music every week spanning five decades of rock and roll. You’ll hear everything from the pop 70s all the way to the latest melodic indie, with a healthy dose of punk, progressive, new wave and grunge thrown into the mix. Your host, Brian Blum, broadcasts from Jerusalem, Israel, so you’ll hear some cool Israeli rock as well.

Brainwaves airs at the following times and stations:

On 107.5 andHow.FM
Mondays: 9:00 PM Pacific, Midnight Eastern (U.S.)
Tuesdays: 7:00 AM Israel, 6:00 PM New Zealand
Wednesdays:  5:00 PM Pacific, 8:00 PM Eastern (U.S.)
Thursdays: 2:00 PM New Zealand
On Radio Free Nachlaot
Mondays: 7:00 PM Israel, 9:00 AM Pacific, Noon Eastern (U.S.)
On Rock XS
Fridays: 12:00 PM GMT, 2:00 PM EET (Israel, Greece and Eastern Europe)

All stations are on TuneIn.com and iTunes (AndHow.FM and Rock XS under the Alternative category, Radio Free Nachlaot in the International/World category).
Podcasts and playlists posted below and on Mixcloud
Requests and comments: brainwavesradio@gmail.com

Podcast for April 14, 2014

Posted: April 14, 2014 by brainwaves in Podcasts

April 14, 2014

Playlist for April 14, 2014

Posted: April 14, 2014 by brainwaves in Playlists
Band Song
Maya Isacowitz Lucy
Alanis Morissette You Ought to Know (acoustic version)
Tori Amos A Sorta Fairytale
Joan Osborne St. Teresa
Minus the Bear Animal Backwards
Moby Southside
New Order Bizarre Love Triangle
Joy Division Love Will Tear Us Apart
Kevin Gilbert Blank Page
Spock’s Beard Stranger in a Strange Land
Snow Patrol Shut Your Eyes
Julian Cope World Shut Your Mouth (live)
World Party Is it Like Today?
Red Guitar Did You Punch Me?
Zapp And Roger Doo Wa Ditty (Blow That Thing)
The Doobie Brothers Nobody
Jonathan Coulton When I’m 25 or 64
Chicago Feeling Stronger Everyday
Semisonic This Will Be My Year
Unwed Sailor Golden Cities
Modern English After the Snow
Ultravox The Song (We Go)
The Beach Boys Never Learn Not to Love (inspiration: Charles Manson)
Hoku How Do I Feel? (The Burrito Song)
The Icicles Sugar Sweet
The Archies Sugar Sugar
Susannah Hoffs and Matthew Sweet Everything I Own (cover: Bread)
Neil Young and Crazy Horse Driftin’ Back
  Harvest Moon
Neil Patrick Harris A Man’s Gotta Do What a Man’s Gotta Do (soundtrack Dr. Horrible)
Neil Halstead Queen Bee
R.E.M. At My Beautiful
Deaf School What a Way to End it All

Podcast for April 7, 2014

Posted: April 8, 2014 by brainwaves in Podcasts

April 7, 2014

Playlist for April 7, 2014

Posted: April 8, 2014 by brainwaves in Playlists

A special all “Passover” show – every song title or band name has some connection with the festival of freedom

Band Song
Sufjan Stevens Out of Egypt
Robyn Hitchcock and the Egyptians So You Think You’re in Love
The Puppini Sisters Walk Like an Egyptian (cover: The Bangles)
Neko Case The Pharaohs
Pharaoh’s Daughter Enpesare
Oingo Boingo Not My Slave
Porcupine Tree Slave Called Shiver
Desmond Dekker The Israelites
Siouxie and the Banshees Israel
Israel Kamakawiwo’ole Somewhere Over the Rainbow/What a Wonderful World
Prince Raspberry Beret
St. Vincent Prince Johnny
Rich Kids Ghosts of Princes in Towers
Rufus Wainright Rebel Prince
Frightened Rabbit Snake
TV21 Snakes and Ladders
Snakefinger Save Me from Dali
Jim Stafford Spiders and Snakes
Jerry Reed Amos Moses
Rilo Kiley Hail to Whatever You Found in the Sunlight
Belle and Sebastian Funny Little Frog
Weezer (feat. Hayley Williams) Rainbow Connection (cover: Kermit the Frog)
The Cure The Blood
Editors Blood
Blackfield Blood
Morrissey Irish Blood English Heart
Paul Westerberg Stain Yer Blood
Coldplay A Rush of Blood to the Head
Pinback Bloods on Fire
BC Camplight Blood and Chocolate
Bread Too Much Love
Blitzen Trapper Gold for Bread
Minus the Bear Potatoe Juice and Liquid Bread
Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros Desert Song
Kishi Bashi Atticus in the Desert

 

Podcast for March 31, 2014

Posted: March 31, 2014 by brainwaves in Podcasts

March 31, 2014

Playlist for March 31, 2014

Posted: March 31, 2014 by brainwaves in Playlists
Band Song
Idina Menzel Let it Go (soundtrack: Frozen)
  Defying Gravity (soundtrack: Wicked)
Rosario Dawson Out Tonight (soundtrack: Rent)
Imagine Dragons Radioactive
Bill Nelson Flaming Desire
Philip Oakey Together in Electric Dreams
The Buzzcocks Airwaves Dream
Thomas Dolby Airwaves
Peter Gabriel On the Air
Talking Heads Air
Airspace Hunky Dory
Radiohead Airbag
The Avett Brothers Pretty Girl at the Airport
Giraffe Air Dance
Air Alone in Kyoto (soundtrack: Lost in Translation)
Thunderclap Newman Something in the Air
Bread Down on my Knees
Snow Patrol Grazed Knees
R.E.M. Me, Marlon Brando, Marlon Brando and I
Brandon Kuptz This Love is Going Somewhere
The Porcupine Tree Trains
Train Hopeless
Yehuda Poliker Radio Ramallah
Coldplay Lovers in Japan
Yuck Suicide Policeman
The Shin Saint Simon
Doves Sea Song
Kishi Bashi This Must Be the Place (cover: Talking Heads)
Electric Light Orchestra Poker
Lada Gaga Poker Face
Deaf School What a Way to End it All

Podcast for March 24, 2014

Posted: March 24, 2014 by brainwaves in Podcasts

March 24, 2014

Playlist for March 24, 2014

Posted: March 24, 2014 by brainwaves in Playlists
Band Song
Lene Lovich New Toy
Visage Mind of a Toy
Porcupine Tree Radioactive Toy
Toy Matinee with Kevin Gilbert Things She Said
Kevin Gilbert Something Nice for my Dog
The Head and the Heart Cats and Dogs
Dr. Dog Black Red
Three Dog Night Put out the Light
Mosh Ben-Ari Kama Shirim (Some Songs)
Niv Kaikov My Love
Gin Blossoms Someday Soon
Matchbox 20 Long Day
Stroke 9 Little Black Backpack
The Shins Mine’s Not a High Horse
The Bats In the Subway
The Archies Get on the Line
  Inside Out Upside Down
Barenaked Ladies Upside Down
Magazine Upside Down
The Strokes Someday
Vertical Horizon We Are
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros Home
Allen Stone Say So
The Avett Brothers Kick Drum Heart
Ultravox Vienna
The Names Music for Someone
Bear McCreary Theme from “Defiance”
Blondie Europa
Secret Garden Nocturne
Electric Light Orchestra Fire on High
LCD Soundsystem Big Ideas (extended instrumental version)
Deaf School What a Way to End it All

Podcast for March 17, 2014

Posted: March 17, 2014 by brainwaves in Podcasts

March 17, 2014

Playlist for March 17, 2014

Posted: March 17, 2014 by brainwaves in Playlists
Band Song
Beck Blue Moon
Regina Spektor Small Town Moon
Blind Pilot Half Moon
Lush I Have the Moon
Shlomo Artzi Like That (from the album “Moon”)
Frank Zappa and Moon Unit Zappa Valley Girl
The Magnetic Fields You Must Be Out of Your Mind
Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes Janglin’
Marc Mulcahey He’s a Magnet
The National Fireproof
St. Vincent Psychopath
Death Cab for Cutie Codes and Keys
Cat Power Free (remix)
Ellie Goulding Mirror
Icona Pop I Love It
Translator Everywhere That I’m Not
Beck Cycle
Peter Frampton Baby I Love Your Way
Norman Greenbaum Spirit in the Sky
Radiohead Street Spirit (Fade Out)
The Go-Betweens Streets of Your Town
John Lennon Oh Yoko!
The Electrics Time after Time
The Bottles Look at Julie
The Lonely Boyz It’s Only Love
Sharon Van Etten Serpents
The Church Under the Milky Way
Stars Reunion
I Got the Hotties All the Reasons
Arcade Fire Suburban War
Arco All This World
Auto Escape Falling Asleep in the Snow
Deaf School What a Way to End it All